Startup News

Top 20 Finalists Shortlisted in Asia Pacific tech startup competition OzAPP Awards

Picture of Startup News
Startup News
// The OzAPP Awards have shortlisted the Top 20 Finalists in the 2014/15 competition that seeks the most innovative tech startups from the Asia Pacific region.

The OzAPP Awards have shortlisted the Top 20 Finalists in the 2014/15 competition that seeks the most innovative tech startups from the Asia Pacific region.

This year, the competition has seen over 210 startups enter their idea for a mobile, web or cloud app product or early-stage concept. Three finalists in the Top 20 were selected from outside Australia, with two coming from Hong Kong and one from Singapore.

The competition awards the finest young entrepreneurs and startups from the Asia Pacific region with cash and resource prizes to accelerate their ideas.

Most notably, QPrize Australia is awarded to the winner of the OzAPP Awards. A USD$100,000 convertible note from Qualcomm Ventures is on offer for the third year running in the OzAPP Awards competition. A prize that not only represents significant cash, but allows the winner to utilise Qualcomm Ventures’ global network reach, which spans almost every corner of the earth.

For the Top 20 Finalists there are also prizes from Rackspace and Hootsuite, both of which will provide further opportunities to develop and promote each startup’s app within the Asia Pacific region. Prizes for the Top 20 Finalists include $24,000 worth of hosting, education, mentoring and marketing support from Rackspace and 6 months free service on Hootsuite’s social media platforms.

The Top 20 Finalists, selected from all across the Asia Pacific region are:

  • APE Mobile, Perth WA
  • Assignmenthero, Melbourne VIC
  • Churn, Pelican Waters, QLD
  • Class, South Melbourne, VIC
  • Disrupt., Sydney, NSW
  • ePAT (Electronic Pain Assessment Technologies) For Kids, Perth WA
  • Freight Exchange, Sydney, NSW
  • High Ferritin, Perth WA
  • JOBDOH, Hong Kong
  • Joy Sprouts – Kids Preschool Education, Hong Kong
  • Kindy, Sydney, NSW
  • MobiMe, Sydney, NSW
  • OnFlow, Surry Hills, NSW
  • Pamperologist, Singapore
  • PEERS (Paediatric Evaluation of Emotions Relationships and
  • Socialisation),Melbourne, VIC
  • realAs, South Yarra, VIC
  • Simply Wall St, Perth WA
  • Tap Into Safety Interactive Safety Training Tools, Gwelup WA
  • Two Hoots App + Platform, Fortitude Valley, QLD
  • WiseTime, West Leederville, WA

OzAPP Awards Advisory Committee Chairperson Larry Lopez endorsed the 20 exceptional finalist startups, ahead of what will be a busy period for the OzAPP Awards, “It has been difficult as usual to narrow down the list to 20, but we’ve selected some with terrific potential. We believe these teams are strong and that their startups have opportunity for some real traction” said Mr. Lopez.

OzApp Logo FINAL-05OzAPP Awards Co-Founder Rohan McDougall, Director of IP & Commercialisation and Curtin University also oversaw the judging process shared his thoughts on a group of serious contenders, “It was encouraging to receive 210 entries from nine different countries and to review the quality across the board. There are certainly some entrants with global ideas, it is now a case for the final international Judging Panel to gather and select the Top 5 Finalists who will pitch at the West Tech Fest” said Mr. McDougall.

Before the Top 5 Finalists are selected, the Top 20 teams are required to undertake a live video pitch with a senior member of the OzAPP Awards Judging Committee. The live video pitch will test the ability of each startup at convincingly pitching their ideas in a high-pressure situation.

The OzAPP Awards Judging Committee will then gather and review each video pitch, to shortlist the Top 20 Finalists down to 5 teams, who will then go on to pitch their ideas at the final event The West Tech Fest on 18 February at the Perth Town Hall.

The Top 5 startup teams will be flown over from all across the Asia Pacific to pitch at this exciting event which hosts some of the biggest names in technology all over the world including Former Senior VP Engineering at Twitter, Chris Fry and CEO/Founder Voxer, Tom Katis.

[button url=”″ size=”small” style=”orange”] Tickets to the West Tech Fest are now on sale at Eventbrite.[/button]

For more information on the West Tech Fest event and the list of international speakers please visit:

To view the full list of the Top 20 Finalists please visit:

[update] For the actual top 65, have a look at the list below;

  1. airMoov – Entrant: Taha Sabih
  2. APE Mobile – Entrant: Matt Edwards
  3. Assignmenthero – Entrant: Shahed Kamal
  4. Beaconmaker App – Entrant: John Kueh
  5. Big Forest – Entrant: Reg Mifflin
  6. BizForms – Entrant: Ben Roetger
  7. Churn – Entrant: Nick Drewe
  8. Class – Entrant: Sam Lee
  9. CodeNgo – Entrant: Chris Jones
  10. Digital Keys – Entrant: Steve Dunn
  11. Digital Services Infrasructure (DSI) – Entrant: Ranga Abeyweera
  12. Disrupt – Entrant: Gary Elphick
  13. Ediply – Entrant: Peter Chapman
  14. ePat – Entrant: Jeff Hughes
  15. Formula Legend – Entrant: Nathan Harper
  16. Freight Exchange – Entrant: Cate Hull
  17. GeckoLife – Entrant: Rajeev Gupta
  18. GeoMoby – Entrant: Chris Baudia
  19. High Ferritin – Entrant: Peter Bentley
  20. InstaQuote – Entrant: Michael O’Leary
  21. JOBDOH – Entrant: Xania Wong
  22. Joy Sprouts – Entrant: Suzanne So
  23. Juto – Entrant: Mike Cunnen
  24. Kindom – Entrant: Gry Stene
  25. Kindy – Entrant: Hugh Podmore
  26. KIS – Entrant: John Sullivan
  27. Larson Lewis Technologies – Entrant: Alex Larson
  28. Lodie – Entrant: Gabrielle Kelly
  29. Measure My Size – Entrant: Nick Unsworth
  30. meToo! – Entrant: Patrick Chugh
  31. Mobilyser – Entrant: Robbie Adams
  32. mobiMe – Entrant: Midu Chandra
  33. MoodMission – Entrant: David Bakker
  34. Mothers Groupie – Entrant: Richard Sexton
  35. myEvidence – Entrant: Tung Tran
  36. – Entrant: Paul Gordon
  37. Near – Entrant: Isaac Vigil
  38. Numbeat – Entrant: Craig Speelman
  39. OnFlow – Entrant: Ian Fowler
  40. Pamperologist – Entrant: Sophia Lin
  41. – Entrant: Leigh Sherman
  42. PEERS – Entrant: James Dromey
  43. Pepster – Entrant: Elliot Smith
  44. Pioneer Road Connect – Entrant: Jessica Oliver
  45. Prezentt – Entrant: Justin Davies
  46. Promise or Pay – Entrant: Jay Boolkin
  47. realAs – Entrant: Josh Rowe
  48. SCANCAM – Entrant: Eoin Byrne
  49. SETScope – Entrant: Tanin Sammanee
  50. Sherpa – Entrant: Mathieu Cornillon
  51. Simply Wall St. – Entrant: Nick van den Berg
  52. Sitevisuals – Entrant: David Shawcross
  53. Snapask – Entrant: Bradley Chiang
  54. SnapViva – Entrant: Tim Chan
  55. StockRadars – Entrant: Mr.Max Kortrakul
  56. StreetHawk – Entrant: Linda Parker
  57. Swatchcloud – Entrant: Adrian Poon
  58. Tap Into Safety Interactive Safety Training Tools – Entrant: Dr Susanne Bahn
  59. TARGiT – Entrant: Theresa Lim
  60. The Safety Compass – Entrant: Adam Poole
  61. Tours medical – Entrant: Justin Louie
  62. Two Hoots App + Platform – Entrant: Jo Ucukalo
  63. WardConnect – Entrant: Martin Seneviratne
  64. Where’s Lois – Entrant: David Newman
  65. WiseTime – Entrant: Thomas Haines

Get more advice and actionable insights to help you grow your startup.

Share this post :

Picture of Startup News

Startup News

Startup News has been the home of West Australian startup news and events since 2013. We publish several news stories, interviews, tips and events relating to WA startups every week, with over 1,900 articles in our archives. We also produce the 'Startup West' podcast, and host the 'Hubs (Ecosystem)' database of WA startup programs, places and events.
Latest News

Become a Startup Insider

Get the latest startup news, tips, and inspiration in your inbox each week.