Startup News

2018 Premier’s Science Awards open for nominations

Startup News
Startup News

The WA government is looking for the Scientist of the Year, Student Scientist, Early Career Scientist & Science Engagement initiative…

The 2018 Premier’s Science Awards, along with nominations for the 2018 WA Science Hall of Fame, are now open. Could any of these be you, or someone you know?

The Premier’s Science Awards “recognise and celebrate the research and engagement achievements of the Western Australian science community, across all fields of science, including natural, medical, applied and technological science, engineering and mathematics.”

The four award categories are:

  • Scientist of the Year ($50,000 prize)
  • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000 prize).

Last year’s finalists and winners can be seen online, and for more information, and to nominate in one of these categories, visit the Premier’s Science Awards website.

You’re also invited to nominate Western Australians who are pre-eminent in their field to be considered for induction into the Science Hall of Fame. The WA Science Hall of Fame was established in 2007 “to recognise exceptional lifelong contributions from Western Australians to science, technology, engineering or mathematics.”

To be admitted to the WA Science Hall of Fame, an individual must:

  • have undertaken a substantial portion of their work in Western Australia;
  • have a substantial track record as a scientist;
  • be internationally renowned in their field;
  • have been instrumental in developing a school of thought and/or policy in WA;
  • be engaged in outreach;
  • have been influential in the development of graduate students; and
  • be a member of a learned academy or be of similar stature.

Nobel prize winners Prof Barry Marshall & Dr Robin Warren were the inaugural inductees, and since then Prof Fiona Stanley and Prof Lyn Beazley have been among those honoured.

For more information and to submit a nomination, please head on over to the WA Science Hall of Fame website.

Applications close at 10.00am on Monday 21st May 2018. Finalists will be announced in July, with an Awards ceremony set for Weds 15th August.


The Premier’s Science Awards are  sponsored by Chevron, ExxonMobil and Woodside, and supported by Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University, The University of Notre Dame, and The University of Western Australia.


Read more of the latest news from the startup ecosystem here

Share this post :

Our Sponsors
Startup News

Startup News

Startup News has been the home of West Australian startup news and events since 2013. We publish several news stories, interviews, tips and events relating to WA startups every week, with over 1,900 articles in our archives. We also produce the 'Startup West' podcast, and host the 'Hubs (Ecosystem)' database of WA startup programs, places and events.
Latest News

Become a Startup Insider

Get the latest startup news, tips, and inspiration in your inbox each week.